Turnip Cough Syrup – Needs various spoonfuls of sugar to go down.

I was sick last week and decided to take only natural products to aid in my recovery.  I did buy some awesome herbal cough drops, but I’m wondering if I can make my own in the future.  I know menthol is the main ingredient in cough drops and I think it can be found in eucalyptus.  I found out there are a few eucalyptus trees nearby.  If I figure this out I’ll try it.  Otherwise, a very easy remedy is to just suck on a sage leaf or probably a eucalyptus leaf.  I actually did that as a teenager to get rid of bad breath or incriminating smoky smells.  There were huge orchards near where i grew up.  Anyway, I made my own cough syrup out of turnips and sugar.  I had read about this a long long time ago and finally decided it was time to try it.  I looked online and found a great list of different home cough syrups and it said to cut and peel a turnip into thin slices and layer it with sugar in alternating layers.  So i did just that:

I layered the whole turnip and then covered it and let it sit at room temperature for 10 hours.  In the morning it looked like this:

Somehow the sugar extracts juices from the turnip and makes this thick turnipy liquid.  So I strained it and actually kept the turnips for cooking for later and drank several tablespoons of it in the morning and again in the evening.  It tasted pretty strange.  Although it was very sweet I couldn’t escape the intense turnip flavor.  But it was no worse than the weird flavors they put in commercial cough syrups.   Turnip prepared in this way is supposed to be a great expectorant, which means that it helps liquefy your mucus more in order for your body to have an easier time to cough it up and get rid of it.  It did help.  My cough was less intense and it was more productive.  Turnip is extremely good for you anyway, or so I’ve read, so it felt great to consume it and know that it was performing multiple positive actions in my body.  I recommend this method in the future for anyone with a cough.  It sucks that it takes 10-12 hours but, if you get sick and you’re not at the coughing stage yet, you likely will get there so you can just make it before the cough sets in.  Its incredibly cheap anyway, you just have to buy a fresh turnip.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Norma on January 16, 2012 at 1:52 pm

    I tried this preparation one of the best home remedies for a cough/cold. (Also Mullein tea is good to help clear the respiratory tract of mucous.) This preparation stopped my coughing literally within 2 minutes. A natural expectorant, very easy on the tastes buds. Note: personally i use organic vegan sugar. I just put batch #2 on top of the refrigerator.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

